World War I Branch of Service

Courtesy of Mathers Museum of World Cultures. Although Indians enlisted in various branches of service—Army, Marines, and Navy—and performed many specialized services, most Indians were Army foot soldiers in the trenches.

What branches of military were in ww1?


  • Air Force.
  • Army.
  • Navy.
  • Marine Corps.
  • Coast Guard.

What are the 5 branches of the armed services?

The US military has five branches: the Army, Navy, Air Force, Marines, and Coast Guard.

What was the 1st branch of the military?

The Army was the first branch of the armed services established by Congress. The U.S. Army evolved from the Continental Army, created on July 14, 1775, by the CONTINENTAL CONGRESS to fight the Revolutionary War against the British.

What was the Selective Service Act in ww1?

On May 18, 1917, Congress passed the Selective Service Act, which authorized the Federal Government to temporarily expand the military through conscription. The act eventually required all men between the ages of 21 to 45 to register for military service.

What are the 12 branches of the military?

What Are the Branches of the Military?

  • Air Force and Air Force Reserve. The nation’s source of air and space power. …
  • Air National Guard. …
  • Army and Army Reserve. …
  • Army National Guard. …
  • Coast Guard and Coast Guard Reserve. …
  • Marine Corps and Marine Corps Reserve. …
  • Navy and Navy Reserve. …
  • Space Force.

Related Post