How do I synchronize Dropbox?
How to use selective sync to save space on your hard drive
- If you haven’t already, install Dropbox on your computer.
- Click the Dropbox icon in the taskbar (Windows) or menu bar (Mac).
- Click your avatar (profile picture or initials).
- Select Preferences.
- Click Sync.
Why is Dropbox syncing all my files?
This process is just a precaution to ensure that a copy of your files are safe on your computer while your files are re-syncing. It’s recommended that you don’t touch the “Dropbox (Old)” folder while this process is happening. The time this process takes depends on the amount and size of your files.
How do I know if my Dropbox is syncing?
To check the sync status of all files and folders:
- Click the Dropbox icon in your taskbar (Windows) or menu bar (Mac).
- At the bottom of the window that appears, there’s a bar with text that says Your files are up to date, Syncing [filename], Syncing [x] files, or Syncing paused until [x].
What to do if Dropbox is not syncing?
Dropbox Files Not Syncing on Android
The best solution is to plug your Android device into a computer and manually move files over to bypass problems with file size or download speed. You can also solve some problems by clearing the cache.
Can Dropbox sync files automatically?
Once you get back online, Dropbox will automatically synchronize your folders and files with all the latest changes. You can also select files to access offline on your Android or iPhone smartphone, and even your iPad. With Dropbox Smart Sync, free up precious hard drive space by sending files to the cloud.
What is smart sync Dropbox?
With Dropbox Smart Sync, you can see and access every file in your account and every folder that’s been shared with you, right from your desktop, without taking up your hard drive space. Get Smart Sync.
How do I permanently stop Dropbox from syncing?
Quote from video: So that's how you do it basically hover over the Dropbox icon. And then you you hover in this area will say syncing. And click it and it will say syncing pause when you're ready to resume it again.
What happens if I delete Dropbox folder on my computer?
After you permanently delete it, the folder is deleted from the Dropbox accounts of all members and their access is permanently removed. If you want to leave members with a copy of the folder, you can just unshare it instead.